Football legends, players and officials have poured into the Sandton Convention Centre to learn who made the cut for the 2017/18 PSL awards.

Champions Sundowns and their star Percy Tau are expected to dominate the awards but as always we can look forward to a few surprises this evening.

The forward is the favourite to clinch the player of the year award for a 11-goal season that guided Sundowns to the league title and has seen him persistently linked with a big-money move to Europe.
Teammate Hlompho Kekana and Maritzburg United’s Siphesihle Ndlovu will challenge Tau for the honour of being called the footballer of the season – chosen by the PSL’s 16 coaches. 

Maritzburg United coach Fadlu Davids has the best chance of preventing Sundowns’ Pitso Mosimane from grabbing the coach of the season. Davids’ transformation of Maritzburg has been widely hailed as he guided them to fourth place and the Nedbank Cup final. Milutin Sredojević, meanwhile, was recognised for his equally remarkable improvement of Orlando Pirates from shambles to title contenders.

You can watch the awards live on SuperSport and SABC 1.

Below is the full list of nominations.

Footballer of the Season: 

  • Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)
  • Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season

  • Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)
  • Musa Nyatama (Orlando Pirates)
  • Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

  • Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
  • Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United)
  • Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

  • Bevan Fransman (Maritzburg United)
  • Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)
  • Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

  • Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)
  • Musa Nyatama (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

  • Sibusiso Mabaliso (Amazulu)
  • Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)
  • Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

  • Fadlu Davids (Maritzburg United)
  • Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Milutin Sredjoevic (Orlando Pirates)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

  • Andrea Feleccia (Free State Stars)
  • Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United)
  • Thela Ngobeni (Free State Stars)